INDEPENDENT INFORMATION. INFORMED NEXT STEPS.Español

Home / Directory / Colorado / Downtown Detention Center / Van Cise-Simonet

Downtown Detention Center / Van Cise-Simonet

A family guide to Denver adult custody: DDC/Van Cise-Simonet and Denver County Jail have different addresses and visit options. Confirm the current facility and CD number before travel, payment or mail.

All states and facilities Facility information, not live custody records.

JAIL411 / FAMILY FIELD GUIDE

Supporting someone in Denver’s jails

Sources reviewed

Denver Sheriff adult custody: Downtown/Van Cise-Simonet and Denver County Jail; hospital custody distinguished.

  1. Locate

    Confirm name, CD, facility and every case or hold.

  2. Choose the mode

    DDC is video only; COJL has video and eligible in-person visits.

  3. Prepare support

    Separate Tampa personal mail, Denver special mail, DSD funds and Securus accounts.

  4. Confirm before travel

    Check appointment, ID, transit and return; confirm any release with DSD.

PART 01

Find the person and the correct jail

Separate DDC, Smith Road and hospital custody.

Which Denver jail holds the person?

The Denver Sheriff Department (DSD) operates Downtown Detention Center (DDC), also called Van Cise-Simonet Detention Center, and Denver County Jail (COJL). They are separate destinations within one adult jail system. DDC at 490 W. Colfax Ave., Denver, CO 80204 handles intake; COJL is at 10500 E. Smith Rd., Denver, CO 80239. Use the current custody record, not the generic phrase “Denver jail,” to choose a destination.

Denver Health’s Correctional Care Medical Facility is a guarded hospital unit serving multiple contracted jurisdictions, including DSD and state custody. A hospital transfer is not a release and does not authorize an ordinary hospital visit. Ask the custodian and medical unit about contact arrangements. Denver Reception and Diagnostic Center, Denver Women’s Correctional Facility, Gilliam youth detention, neighboring county jails, federal detention and ICE custody have their own rules. These instructions do not apply to them.

Sources: DSD · public contacts · DSD · current family and friends guide · Denver Health · correctional care

Search, intake delays and missing results

Start with Denver’s official custody search; for help call 720-913-3600. Match the booked name and identity carefully, then record the Criminal Descriptor (CD) number, current facility, booking number, every case, court, bond and hold. The CD number connects mail, deposits and many requests to the correct person; a case number is not a substitute.

  1. During intake, staff search and inventory property, photograph and fingerprint the person, check warrants and perform health screening. DSD describes usual processing as 2–6 hours; this is an estimate, not a promise that the website will update within that period.
  2. If the name is missing, try the booked spelling or known alternative and ask the arresting agency where it transported the person. Call the jail with name, date of birth, arrest date and agency.
  3. Ask whether intake, court movement, hospital care, transfer or release explains a missing or changed record. Check Adams, Arapahoe, Jefferson or another identified custodian only when the arrest or transfer information points there.
  4. Recheck housing before travel or a payment. An online bond search shows eligible court cases, not everyone in jail.

Colorado VINE at 888-263-8463 provides custody information and optional phone, email or text notifications. Register with the correct record and keep contact details current; notifications do not replace confirming a pickup with DSD.

Sources: DSD · official custody search · DSD · current family and friends guide · DSD · public contacts · Denver County Court · online bond process

A contact for each problem

Denver custody contacts
NeedContactWhat to provide
Custody or urgent family message720-913-3600Name, birth date, CD number; ask for a supervisor for a death or serious family emergency.
DDC / Van Cise-Simonet720-337-0400490 W. Colfax Ave., Denver, CO 80204.
Denver County Jail720-913-364210500 E. Smith Rd., Denver, CO 80239.
Visits720-913-3791Tuesday–Friday, 9 am–2 pm; voicemail outside these hours. Give jail, CD number, proposed date and visit type.
Video account/technical support877-578-3658Securus account email and session ID; never your password.
Phone account800-844-6591Securus receiving number and transaction details.
DSD trust account720-337-0198 DDC; 720-913-3647 COJLCD number, date, amount and receipt.
Deposit vendor866-345-1884Access Corrections kiosk/online transaction.
Court bond720-337-0062Each case number, court, defendant and bond receipt.
Programs/reentryDSDPrograms@denvergov.orgRequest the assigned case manager and a release plan.

General DSD inquiries: dsdinfo@denvergov.org. Ordinary email is not a staffed emergency channel; use the custody line for immediate danger or a time-sensitive medical concern.

Sources: DSD · public contacts · DSD · current visiting instructions · DSD · current family and friends guide · DSD · funds order, May 2024 · Denver County Court · current contacts

Back to guide contents ↑
PART 02

Plan and complete a visit

Different modes, schedules, children, clothes and technical help.

Choose a visit type and obtain confirmation

DDC offers social video visits only. COJL offers onsite video, remote video and eligible in-person visits. A video appointment made for one jail does not authorize visiting the other.

  1. Confirm the person’s facility and CD number. Ask about current restrictions or availability before arranging travel.
  2. For either jail’s video visits, create or sign in to Securus, complete the visitor registration/identity prompts and choose the correct facility, person and onsite or remote option. DSD requires both remote and lobby video reservations at least 24 hours in advance. Registration kiosks are available in both jail lobbies for people without online access.
  3. For COJL in-person visits, use DSD’s In-Person Eligibility Form. Eligibility is checked through the form; an ineligible request produces a notice. Complete the process and retain the confirmed date and instructions. Submission alone is not a confirmed appointment.
  4. Check the confirmation for every visitor, jail, date, Mountain Time and visit mode. If the person does not appear, the form rejects the request or no times are offered, call the visit line, 720-913-3791, Tuesday–Friday, 9 am–2 pm.

The public pages do not describe a separate universal approved family visitor list or a fixed number of days before a new booking becomes eligible. Do not buy a trip on an assumption. Ask the visit line about a long-distance or compassionate exception; the 2023 handbook allows consideration of out-of-state travelers with proof of the trip, but it does not guarantee approval or a contact visit.

Sources: DSD · current visiting instructions · DSD · current family and friends guide · DSD · COJL in-person eligibility request · DSD · inmate handbook, March 2023 · Securus · family account portal

The two jails have different schedules and limits

Current DSD visit windows — Mountain Time
Jail / modePublished windowsLength and allowance
DDC onsite video7–10 am; 12–2 pm; 3–4 pm; 6–9 pmUp to 30 minutes; 1 per week, no more than 1 per day.
DDC remote video7–10 am; 11:30 am–2 pm; 5–9 pmUp to 30 minutes; 1 per week, no more than 1 per day.
COJL onsite videoFriday, Saturday, Sunday: 12 pm, 1 pm, 6 pm, 7 pm, 8 pmUp to 30 minutes; 2 onsite per week, no more than 1 per day.
COJL remote video7–10 am; 11:30 am–2 pm; 8:30 pmUp to 30 minutes; 1 remote per day. The website lists 8:30 pm as a single time.
COJL in personFriday and Saturday: 12 pm, 1 pm, 2 pm, 3 pmUp to 30 minutes; 2 per week, no more than 1 per day; eligibility required.

The current page does not specify weekdays beside the DDC or remote windows; the 2023 handbook describes those modes as daily. Use the available date and time in the booking confirmation. The current page separately lists DDC onsite and remote allowances and separately lists COJL onsite-video and in-person allowances. It does not explain whether those weekly allowances share a counter. Ask 720-913-3791 before trying to combine them; do not assume an extra quota.

These are the current service-page windows, not the broader time ranges printed in the older handbook. Court, medical care, housing restrictions and operational interruptions can prevent a particular session.

Sources: DSD · current visiting instructions · DSD · inmate handbook, March 2023

Identification, children and infant supplies

Bring a current valid U.S. driver license or state ID, passport, military ID or consulate ID. DSD lists these for check-in. Match the registration to the ID. If an ID is expired, temporary or unavailable, resolve acceptance with the visit line before traveling; the page does not promise an exception.

The 2023 handbook limits onsite video to 3 visitors at one time and requires visitors under 18 to be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. The newer public page requires responsible-adult supervision for all children and prohibits an under-18 person visiting remotely alone. Use the parent/guardian standard for a child’s onsite-video visit. For COJL’s newer in-person program, confirm permitted accompanying adults and the total party size when requesting eligibility.

Infant details are not published clearly: whether an infant counts toward the party limit, which birth or guardianship documents are required, and permitted diapers, bottles, formula, breast milk, carriers and strollers. Call 720-913-3791 with each child’s age and the proposed supplies. Ask whether essential items need inspection or a clear bag and where prohibited items can be stored. Do not assume a locker or childcare service exists; children must remain supervised throughout.

Sources: DSD · current visiting instructions · DSD · inmate handbook, March 2023

Clothes, arrival and conduct

For an onsite-video or COJL in-person appointment, check in 15 minutes early under the current public instructions. Start the video login 1 minute before the appointment. A late video session ends at the original time; a late in-person visit is canceled. Missing a visit without prior cancellation uses the allotment. The older handbook’s 30-minute DDC check-in instruction differs; follow any earlier arrival requirement on your actual confirmation.

  • Wear shoes and a shirt with sleeves that covers chest and shoulders. Shorts must reach mid-thigh or lower; a sports jersey needs a T-shirt underneath if it leaves shoulders exposed.
  • No transparent, revealing or tight clothing, exposed underwear, muscle shirts, short skirts, spaghetti straps, halter/backless tops or swimwear. Clothing cannot resemble jail attire or carry weapon-like adornments.
  • No gang, obscene, profane, drug or alcohol messages. Hats are prohibited in the visitor area with a religious exception.
  • Remote participants must remain appropriately clothed, sober and stationary; no driving, sexual activity, weapons, drugs, gang signs, disruptive profanity or camera/recording use.

Social visits are monitored and recorded. Visitors may face warrant checks. Keep the phone and other recording devices out of use; the handbook prohibits audio/video recording, including with smartwatches. Ask in advance about medically necessary equipment, religious accommodation or an assistive device. A visit can be terminated for conduct or discipline.

Sources: DSD · current visiting instructions · DSD · inmate handbook, March 2023

Remote setup, cancellation and failed visits

DSD’s family page publishes $8.99 plus tax for a 30-minute remote visit; review the actual Denver checkout charge before paying. Use the Securus app or supported computer/tablet with a working camera, microphone and stable internet. Complete the provider’s equipment check before the appointment, allow microphone/camera access and verify the correct account and session. Registration and a paid phone account do not by themselves reserve video.

Cancel in the Securus app or online account under My Sessions. Securus says cancellation windows are facility-specific and commonly 24 hours; Denver’s public page does not state its exact cutoff. Read the reservation terms and cancel as early as possible. Securus describes eligible cancellation, facility rejection and facility cancellation as video-account credit, not a cash refund; taxes and fees are excluded from credits.

If a session fails, retain the session ID, date/time, receipt and error message. Call video support, 877-578-3658, and ask for a service ticket and the missed/dropped-session credit request form. The provider requires written permission to review a session for that claim. For a housing, discipline or jail cancellation question, also call DSD visits, 720-913-3791. Do not record the visit to document a fault. A technical failure does not guarantee automatic credit or another appointment. Cancel upcoming sessions before deleting an account; deleting first can forfeit them.

Sources: DSD · current family and friends guide · DSD · current visiting instructions · Securus · family account portal · Securus · video cancellation and credit · Securus · unused balance refunds

Attorney, clergy and other professional access

Legal visits use a separate professional process and do not consume the ordinary social allowance. DSD directs video professionals to Securus; attorneys should obtain an attorney-designated account and verify confidentiality before discussing a case.

A private attorney visiting without electronics may present a current bar card and government photo ID directly at the jail. Bringing 1 laptop or tablet requires the approval letter obtained through DSD’s electronics-entry request. Colorado State Public Defender and Alternate Defense Counsel staff have different credential rules: agency badge or ADC contract/identification documentation, bar credentials where applicable and government ID. Follow the professional-access page for the applicable category.

Other professionals—including investigators, social workers and paralegals—may need formal clearance that can take up to 15 business days. Attorney interns are not permitted in secure areas under the posted policy. Families should not use a professional form to request a social exception. The person in custody can kite the chaplain for religious support or coordination with a minister; ask DSD to arrange any clergy visit.

Sources: DSD · professional access and clearances · DSD · inmate handbook, March 2023

Back to guide contents ↑
PART 03

Calls, mail and money

Choose the right provider, postal address and account.

Phone accounts, legal calls and connection problems

DSD uses Securus for outgoing personal calls. Create the receiving account through the official Securus portal or call 800-844-6591. Enter the exact phone number that will receive calls, confirm Denver service and check the current rate and payment terms. AdvanceConnect is a prepaid receiving account; Securus Debit belongs to the person in custody where offered. Neither is the DSD commissary balance. The reviewed Denver pages do not publish a complete current per-minute rate or a universal free personal-call allowance.

The person receives a calling PIN at intake and ordinarily calls from the housing unit. Calls are not a way to ring directly into the jail. The handbook says housing phones may be available after morning cleanup until about 8:45 pm, depending on classification, movements and security. Social calls may be recorded; do not discuss case facts on them. Court contact restrictions still apply.

Public defenders, Denver courts, probation/parole and other programmed legal agencies can be called free. A private attorney can ask the Logistics Unit, 720-913-3774, to add the legal number and confirm confidential treatment. The person should kite Operations with the agency and number if a programmed call fails. Deaf or hard-of-hearing people can request video-phone/TTY or comparable access through a supervisor.

For personal-call failure, check the registered receiving number, available balance and any account/block notice with Securus. Save call time, number, error and charge. The person should send an Operations kite detailing disconnections or phone-credit problems so Logistics can refer them to the vendor. Do not repeatedly buy credit to solve an unidentified restriction. For a death or serious family emergency, call 720-913-3600 and request a supervisor; staff assess the message rather than transferring an incoming social call.

Sources: DSD · current family and friends guide · DSD · inmate handbook, March 2023 · DSD · telephone-use policy · Securus · account types

Personal letters go to Tampa for scanning

Use this address for personal letters and permitted photographs for either Denver jail:

Full booked name and CD number
Denver Sheriff Department
P.O. Box 20707
Tampa, FL 33622

Include your complete return address. The July 2025 mail order says personal mail sent elsewhere, or without the CD number, is returned. Tampa scans correspondence into the person’s protected tablet/kiosk account; if the person cannot access either device, policy provides a printed copy. A scan is not a confidential message.

Do not send personal packages or irreplaceable originals. Unscannable items can be discarded. The public mail page says originals are destroyed 90 days after receipt. Include a stamped, self-addressed return envelope to a non-jail address if you want the original returned, and resolve any return request within that period. Ask the jail mailroom before sending something that cannot be replaced.

Legal mail, money orders, official documents and publications use the separate Denver address below. Older handbooks that route every letter to P.O. Box 1108 no longer describe the current personal-mail process. Electronic messaging products advertised by Securus are not proof that a particular Denver account has that feature; confirm availability, approval rules and cost before purchasing stamps.

Sources: DSD · current mail addresses and contents · DSD · mail order, July 2025 · Securus · account types

Photos, drawings, rejection and review

Personal-mail limits
ItemCurrent Denver rule
PhotosUp to 10 per mailing; no larger than 8 × 10 inches. Extra or oversized photos are discarded. No Polaroids, laminated images, nudity, partial nudity, sexual or gang content.
DrawingsPaper no larger than 8.5 × 11 inches; avoid non-paper or bulky items that cannot be scanned.
Forbidden informationNo weapon/drug-making or escape instructions, criminal plans, gang material, sexually explicit content or prohibited discriminatory material.
Sensitive documentsDo not send bank/card account information, Social Security information, ID/passports, government documents or property/tax documents as personal correspondence. Official government documents have a separate process.
Third-party and jail correspondenceThe 2025 order rejects third-party mailing services or mail not from the original sender, and incoming mail from another incarcerated person.

There is no general numerical limit on incoming letters. Rejection and destruction are different outcomes: undeliverable mail is returned, while excess photographs and unscannable material may be discarded. DSD must give the person written notice when a letter or postal item is withheld or rejected. Save the envelope/notice and dates; the person can ask the mailroom for the specific reason and use the grievance process to contest it. The reviewed pages do not publish a separate sender appeal form or deadline, so ask 720-913-3642 to connect you with mail staff before resending.

Sources: DSD · current mail addresses and contents · DSD · mail order, July 2025 · DSD · inmate handbook, March 2023

Trust deposits and tracking missing money

DSD trust money pays for permitted commissary and applicable charges; it is separate from the family’s Securus receiving/video account and from a court bond. Use the person’s exact name and CD number and confirm custody before depositing.

Ways to fund a DSD account
MethodInstructionsIf it does not post
OnlineAccess Corrections; choose the correct Denver agency and person, review the fee and save the receipt.Call 866-345-1884 with transaction details.
Lobby kioskThe May 2024 funds order permits cash or card at the facility lobby kiosk. The family page specifically directs families to DDC, 490 W. Colfax Ave., Denver, CO 80204. Verify COJL kiosk availability and current lobby hours before going.Print/save the receipt; contact Access Corrections for kiosk failures.
USPS money orderFill in ink, payable to the person, with CD number and return address; no alterations. Drop at the facility information desk or mail with name/CD to P.O. Box 1108, Denver, CO 80201.Policy allows 72 hours, excluding weekends and holidays, to post. Contact DDC accounts 720-337-0198 or COJL accounts 720-913-3647.

Information desks do not accept cash, personal/cashier’s/traveler’s checks or non-USPS money orders. Cash belongs in a working kiosk. Government-issued checks have a separate exception; ordinary checks mailed in are stored as property, not credited as spending funds. The reviewed rules do not publish a universal deposit maximum or current vendor fee table. Confirm the limit and net amount at checkout before authorizing payment.

For a missing deposit, compare the receipt’s jail, CD number, date and amount, then ask whether it was rejected, delayed or credited against an existing charge. Do not make a duplicate deposit while the first is being traced.

Sources: DSD · current family and friends guide · DSD · funds order, May 2024 · DSD · mail order, July 2025 · Access Corrections · deposit service

Commissary and help when there is little money

The current family page describes commissary purchases every other week; the March 2023 handbook says weekly. The person should ask the housing/commissary deputy for the current unit’s order and delivery day and available spending limit. Visitors cannot bring ordinary commissary goods. Depositing money is not a guarantee that an order will be placed before release or transfer.

The newer May 2024 funds policy controls the published indigent-package criteria. A person qualifies if they arrive with $10 or less and the balance is below $10 when kiosk orders are processed; alternatively, the balance must remain below $10 for 30 days, with 30 days since the last purchase over $10. After the initial package, delivery is every 30 days. The person must order the package on the kiosk; ask the commissary deputy for help if access is unavailable.

The listed package contains 4 stamped envelopes, 12 sheets of paper, deodorant, lotion, 1 pair of socks, 1 pair of underwear and $10.40 of phone time. Contact-lens solution/cases, denture adhesive/cleaning tablets and reading glasses may be requested separately. The 2025 mail policy also directs an indigent-mail request by kite to commissary. Do not wait to report urgent hygiene or health needs while a financial eligibility question is resolved; care cannot be denied for inability to pay.

Sources: DSD · current family and friends guide · DSD · inmate handbook, March 2023 · DSD · funds order, May 2024 · DSD · mail order, July 2025

Money releases, discharge balances and provider refunds

A family member cannot withdraw DSD funds without the person’s authorization and an available balance. The family guide requires government photo ID; the 2023 handbook describes a $20 minimum and 1 money release per day. It lists COJL processing Monday–Friday, 1–6:30 pm, excluding holidays, and DDC around the clock. Confirm current authorization and counter hours with DDC accounts, 720-337-0198, or COJL accounts, 720-913-3647, before travel.

Under the May 2024 policy, the person chooses a check or debit card for the remaining DSD balance at release. Ask about card fees and usable access before choosing. A check must be cashed within 2 years; reissue involves verifying it was not cashed and whether a $20 stop-payment charge applies. If the facility cannot reconcile/pay the balance immediately, policy provides next-business-day payment when feasible or within 15 days when reconciliation is needed. At COJL, request the accounting copy and choose return pickup with valid ID or mailing to a complete current address.

Securus balances require a separate request. Its current help page says closing an eligible AdvanceConnect account triggers a refund after recent calls are deducted: card refunds are issued in 2–3 business days and may take a billing cycle to appear; specified non-card payments are refunded by mailed check in 2–3 weeks. Confirm your address and cancel future video sessions before closing. Securus Debit deposits belong to the incarcerated person and are not refundable to the depositor. Contact 800-844-6591 for the correct account process.

Sources: DSD · current family and friends guide · DSD · inmate handbook, March 2023 · DSD · funds order, May 2024 · Securus · unused balance refunds

Back to guide contents ↑
PART 04

Care, safety and complaints

Urgent reports, consent, disability support and grievance paths.

Report an urgent medical or mental-health concern

If someone in DSD custody may be suicidal, withdrawing dangerously, missing essential treatment or otherwise at immediate risk, call 720-913-3600 and request a supervisor and Health Services/Crisis Response Team. Give the booked name, CD number, current jail, exact concern, when it began and what the person said or what you observed. State “urgent medical concern” or “suicide risk” plainly. Ask who received the report and how it will reach clinical staff; record the time and follow up if the concern remains unresolved.

DSD’s Crisis Response Team operates 24 hours for behavioral crises, self-harm concerns, serious mental illness and emergent medication issues. Denver Health provides jail nursing, medical, behavioral and dental care. The person in custody should alert a deputy immediately in an emergency rather than wait for a routine kite or grievance response. A family email, online visit request or vendor support ticket is not an emergency report.

For a serious illness or death outside jail that needs to be conveyed to the person, the same custody line directs callers to a supervisor. Staff evaluate delivery and support arrangements; this does not guarantee a furlough or special visit.

Sources: DSD · current family and friends guide · DSD · public contacts · DSD · inmate handbook, March 2023 · Denver Health · correctional care

Routine care, medications, consent and records

For routine medical, dental or mental-health care, the person uses a white Health Services kite and puts it directly in the locked health-request box; the handbook says a yellow general kite is not a healthcare request. Clinical staff collect and review requests daily and determine evaluation and treatment. Include symptoms, duration and CD number. Use the deputy immediately if the condition becomes urgent.

Tell intake/health staff about diagnoses, allergies, pregnancy, recent hospital care and prescribed medication, including dose, pharmacy/prescriber and last dose. A family member with this information should call the jail and ask Health Services how to transmit it securely. The reviewed sources do not publish a dedicated family medication-history fax or an unrestricted medication-drop procedure. Do not send pills or medical devices in personal mail or assume a lobby drop-off is permitted. Medical staff approve needed orthopedic, hearing or other therapeutic equipment. Medication brought at booking is stored with property; clinical staff determine what is administered.

DSD medical records are confidential and separate from public custody records. Ask the person to request and sign the appropriate authorization identifying who may receive information and its scope. Providing useful history does not entitle a relative to a clinical update. The person can request record-release forms through a white kite; the handbook describes processing up to 30 days after completed authorization reaches Health Information Management and permits an outside mailing address if release is expected. Ask Health Services about the current records fee.

The 2023 handbook lists a $7 initial kite-visit charge, with referred provider visits, emergency and necessary follow-up care free. It explicitly says care cannot be denied because the person cannot pay. Ask staff about current billing rather than letting a possible charge delay treatment. For a medical complaint, use the distinct Health Services grievance route below.

Sources: DSD · inmate handbook, March 2023 · DSD · Health Services policy · Denver Health · correctional care · DSD · current family and friends guide

Mental health, disability and lactation support

Denver’s published program includes psychiatric medication management, individual/group therapy, case management and treatment transitions. The men’s High Acuity Transition unit is at DDC; the women’s unit and other transition units are at COJL. Clinical/housing staff determine eligibility. DSD describes medication-assisted treatment both for continuation of existing treatment and for people starting treatment in jail. Ask the clinician about continuity and a community appointment before release.

For disability-related access, ask at intake or send a kite to the Classification Unit’s ADA liaison describing the barrier and requested modification. Request help completing a kite or grievance if reading, writing, hearing, vision or another disability prevents independent use. The policy covers auxiliary communication aids and reasonable modifications. A family visitor needing accessible entry, communication support or a service animal should speak with the visit line before arrival; public-area service-animal access is addressed in DSD’s ADA order.

Pregnant or lactating people should notify Health Services. DSD’s lactation policy provides education, pumping equipment, milk storage/transport supplies and a suitable private setting subject to individualized safety needs. A requested lactation-consultant consultation is to begin being coordinated within 24 hours. Milk pickup requires arrangements and a waiver; ask Programs/health staff who can collect it, at which jail, when and how to transport it safely. This program does not establish permission to bring infant supplies to a social visit.

Sources: DSD · current family and friends guide · DSD · disability access policy · DSD · lactation support policy · DSD · Health Services policy

General grievances and appeal deadlines

The March 2023 inmate handbook is the current public handbook retrieved for this review. It permits electronic or paper grievances regardless of classification or discipline. A person may ask a deputy for informal help, but does not have to do so before filing; no informal effort is required for alleged deputy misconduct. Request writing/access assistance if needed.

For a general complaint, file within 10 calendar days of the event or learning of it. Include name, CD, housing, date/time/location, people involved, what happened and the requested remedy. Use one issue per grievance. Submit through the electronic system or the designated housing box; paper collections exclude weekends/holidays. Explain any delay. Staff decide whether an exception applies; threats of serious medical harm, injury or sexual abuse are not handled simply as ordinary late complaints.

General-grievance progression
StagePublished deadline
Initial responseNormally within 30 business days of Logistics receipt.
Appeal to facility majorWithin 10 calendar days of the response, or within 10 calendar days after the response should have arrived if absent. Major responds within 15 business days.
Further appeal to division chief of operationsWithin 10 calendar days of the major’s response or its due date if absent; allow 15 business days for the next response.
Final appeal to Sheriff/designeeWithin 10 calendar days of the division chief’s response or its due date if absent. Final response within 15 business days.

Keep copies, tracking numbers and receipt dates at every stage; include earlier decisions and explain what remains unresolved. The handbook allows a written extension notice of up to 70 additional calendar days in the stated circumstances, with a new decision date. Disciplinary decisions have their own appeal procedure. A complaint to the Office of the Independent Monitor or Public Integrity Division ordinarily does not start the internal grievance process; the handbook makes an exception for sexual abuse, sexual harassment or retaliation allegations. Ask counsel about preserving rights and deadlines.

Sources: DSD · inmate handbook, March 2023

Health Services complaints use a different route

For immediate danger, alert a deputy or give the urgent complaint directly to staff. Do not wait through these routine deadlines. For a non-emergency medical, dental or mental-health complaint, the handbook directs a written grievance to Health Services, including onset/injury and examination dates, the requested care or remedy, signature, housing and CD number.

  1. Health Services should answer within 30 calendar days of its timestamp.
  2. Appeal to the health services administrator within 10 calendar days of receiving the response, with the prior answer and reason it remains inadequate.
  3. The administrator should answer within 30 calendar days of receiving the appeal.
  4. If still unresolved after that answer, send a sealed letter within 10 calendar days to Denver Health, Patient Advocate, 777 Bannock Street, Denver, CO 80204, including previous responses and the remaining concern.

Keep the request and response dates. If no health response arrives, ask the administrator and counsel how to preserve the next step; the health subsection does not spell out the same missed-response rule as the general grievance subsection. A medical complaint involving DSD staff misconduct may also need the DSD process. Families can report concerns, but should not assume their phone call files the person’s formal grievance.

Sources: DSD · inmate handbook, March 2023 · Denver Health · correctional care

Sexual abuse, harassment and retaliation

Report suspected sexual abuse, sexual harassment or retaliation promptly, even if the family does not have proof. The person can tell any DSD employee, supervisor, health worker, clergy member or volunteer. Family/third-party and anonymous reports are accepted. Provide name/CD and location if known, what happened or what danger exists, dates and a safe way to contact the reporter.

Outside reporting contacts published by DSD are Internal Affairs/Public Integrity, 720-865-3888, and the Office of the Independent Monitor (OIM), 720-913-3306. For immediate danger inside jail, also call the custody line and request a supervisor. Ask for protection, medical and mental-health care and preservation of evidence. Sexual abuse is never the victim’s fault; reporting should not depend on whether physical evidence remains.

The handbook permits verbal or written emergency complaints without first completing the ordinary form. An imminent-sexual-abuse grievance must reach a supervisor immediately; the published written response period is 48 hours. Sexual-misconduct grievance responses have a separate 90-calendar-day period, with appeal within 10 calendar days of the answer or its due date if no answer. Serious-harm exceptions mean the ordinary 10-day filing limit is not a reason to abandon a report. Report retaliation separately and promptly; ask counsel for help with formal deadlines.

Sources: DSD · PREA reporting and policies · DSD · inmate handbook, March 2023 · OIM · current complaint channels

Outside complaints and what they can do

The Office of the Independent Monitor accepts complaints about sworn Denver Sheriff and Denver Police personnel, forwards them for the relevant investigation and monitors the process. Call 720-913-3306, use its online complaint form or mail 201 W. Colfax Ave., Dept. 1201, Denver, CO 80202. Fax: 720-913-3305. Its page encourages complaints within 60 days; that is stated as encouragement, not a reason to withhold a later report. English and Spanish forms are available.

Use the current OIM address above; the 2023 jail handbook lists an older address. Preserve the incident date, names, location, relevant notices and complaint reference. OIM is an oversight channel, not the person’s lawyer or an emergency medical dispatcher. For ordinary confinement complaints, continue the jail’s internal grievance and appeals as well; an outside complaint usually does not substitute for them.

Sources: OIM · current complaint channels · DSD · PREA reporting and policies · DSD · inmate handbook, March 2023

Back to guide contents ↑
PART 05

Court, property and coming home

Counsel, case-specific bonds, release timing and continuity of care.

Identify the court and the next appearance

Save the exact case number and court for every hold. The jail’s CD number identifies the person; the court case number identifies a proceeding. Denver County Court and Denver District Court are different clerks, even when proceedings are near one another.

Where to ask about a case
Court / taskCurrent public contact
County Court criminal and municipalLindsey-Flanigan Courthouse, 520 W. Colfax Ave., Room 160, Denver, CO 80204. 720-337-0410; criminal@denvercountycourt.org. Clerk Monday–Friday, 7:30 am–4 pm.
In-custody County Court / bondsVan Cise-Simonet, 490 W. Colfax Ave.; in-custody courtrooms 2100 and 2300 on the second floor. 720-337-0062. Verify the specific case’s room and time.
District Court criminal mattersLindsey-Flanigan Courthouse, 520 W. Colfax Ave., Room 135. District clerk 303-606-2300; use the District Court page for case-specific direction.

Use the County Court public portal for available County Court case information and Denver District Court for District matters. Ask the clerk/counsel whether the hearing is in person, authorized virtual appearance or another format, and request language/disability access early. Do not use a bond payment screen as a full docket.

Current public-viewing change: County Court posts a 90-day suspension of courtroom livestreaming effective September 15, 2026, except when the presiding judge orders otherwise. That notice does not cancel a required appearance or necessarily eliminate an individually authorized remote appearance. Confirm access with the assigned courtroom.

Sources: Denver County Court · current contacts · Denver County Court · public portal · Colorado Judicial · Denver District Court · Denver County Court · bonding and warrants

State and municipal public defenders are separate

Finding appointed counsel
CaseOffice
Colorado state chargesColorado State Public Defender, Denver office: 1560 Broadway, Suite 300, Denver, CO 80202; 303-620-4999; Denver@coloradodefenders.us.
Denver municipal ordinance chargesOffice of the Municipal Public Defender: 710 W. Colfax Ave., Denver, CO 80204; 720-865-2840; public.defender@denvergov.org. Current public office/application-assistance hours: 9:30 am–12 pm; call for the day you plan to go.

Ask the clerk which office or appointed private counsel represents the particular case. Being in the same jail does not determine the correct defender. The municipal defender page provides English and Spanish applications. The state defender’s Denver office can explain its appointment/application process. Give the booked name, case number and upcoming hearing; a family member’s call does not itself create representation.

The person can ask jail staff for the free legal-phone list and confidential attorney access. Have private counsel arrange their number through Logistics and use the legal visit/mail process. The family should avoid sending confidential case details through ordinary monitored social calls, video or scanned personal mail.

Sources: Colorado State Public Defender · Denver · Denver · Municipal Public Defender · DSD · inmate handbook, March 2023 · DSD · telephone-use policy · DSD · professional access and clearances

Posting the right bond for every case

Ask DSD and the court about every case and hold before paying. A paid bond on one case does not remove another court’s warrant or other lawful hold. Commissary deposits do not post bail. The judge determines eligibility and conditions; a PR bond is a promise to appear subject to conditions, not a cash deposit equal to its stated amount.

  1. Open the official Denver County Court bond portal. Search by the requested name/date-of-birth fields or case number. Only eligible cases appear; no result does not mean no custody or no warrant.
  2. Select and confirm the correct person, court and amount. The portal supports eligible full cash-bond payments by card, eligible PR bonds and registered professional agents. Post a separate bond for each required case.
  3. For a person held in Denver on another jurisdiction’s warrant, use the Other Court Bond inquiry process. For adult District Court warrant matters, follow its required inquiry instructions. The inquiry service lists 12–5 pm daily and says an eligible inquiry is usually answered within 2 hours; this is not a release guarantee.
  4. Save the receipt, bond paperwork, next hearing and conditions. If payment fails or remains pending, call the bonding office, 720-337-0062, before paying again.

In-person bonding is at 490 W. Colfax Ave. The court’s bond page says 20 hours daily, including holidays, but its current contact page lists counter hours Monday–Friday 7 am–7 pm; weekends/city holidays 7 am–5 pm. These do not match; confirm where and when a bond will be accepted before an off-hours trip. Property-bond evaluation requires an in-person appointment. A professional surety’s fee/collateral agreement is separate from the court cash bond; get its terms before signing.

Sources: Denver County Court · bonding and warrants · Denver County Court · current contacts · Denver County Court · online bond process · Denver County Court · other-court bond inquiry · DSD · inmate handbook, March 2023

After bond: release timing, holds and pickup

DSD’s bond-release order effective October 1, 2025 says a person granted PR or whose bonds are posted must be released as soon as possible and ordinarily no later than 6 hours after being physically present at the jail. For an online bond, the policy says the 6-hour clock begins at submission. A release remains dependent on resolving the person’s other lawful custody holds.

Documented extraordinary emergencies can affect the deadline; the policy says routine administrative practices or staffing shortages are not extraordinary circumstances. If release exceeds 6 hours, the records supervisor must be notified and inform the person and bond payor of the reason. Keep the submission receipt and ask 720-913-3600 for the records supervisor and the specific unresolved hold or documented delay.

Ordinary supervised-release conditions are not a reason to keep someone detained. Court-authorized fitting of electronic monitoring can permit up to 24 hours. The order has a further exception where monitoring protects a specific individual, a no-contact order exists and the judge specifically requires monitoring before release for public safety. If held beyond 24 hours awaiting fitting, the person is to be brought before court on its next session day to explain the delay.

Before pickup, confirm the actual release facility and public exit with DSD. Do not assume COJL housing means pickup there or that paying a bond sets a guaranteed curbside time. Arrange a reachable driver, weather-appropriate clothing, transport and somewhere safe to stay. Ask the person to retain release paperwork, court date, supervision instructions, medication and property/account receipts. A custody-search change alone does not establish where the person is waiting.

Sources: DSD · bond release, October 2025 · DSD · public contacts · DSD · inmate handbook, March 2023

Property authorization, pickup and missing items

DSD inventories belongings at booking and gives a receipt. To release stored property to a relative/friend, the person must authorize it and the collector must bring valid government photo ID and complete the property-release request. The current family guide directs pickup to DDC, 490 W. Colfax Ave., says mailed requests/shipping are not accepted, and requires taking the entire property bag. Bring a bag or box; the facility does not supply one.

The March 2023 handbook also describes COJL pickup Monday–Friday, 1–6:30 pm, and DDC pickup 24 hours daily. Because the newer family page directs collectors only to DDC without hours, call the person’s jail to confirm the actual property location, authorization and pickup window. Do not drive to Smith Road relying on the older handbook alone.

No ordinary clothing, hygiene goods, stationery or books may be handed in at the lobby. Court clothing, essential medical equipment, identity documents needed for an authorized notary service and other exceptions require specific staff/counsel arrangements; a social visit approval is not a property approval.

At release, compare the bag with the inventory and ask the releasing deputy about stored medication before leaving. The handbook directs missing booking medication inquiries to 720-337-0400. For property retained after release, it describes notice and transfer to the DSD Property Bureau, 5160 York St., Denver, CO 80216; 720-865-0490, with disposal 30 days after notice. Oversized items may have a different storage-site receipt and a 60-day period from release. Use the actual receipt and contact staff promptly; do not assume indefinite storage.

Sources: DSD · current family and friends guide · DSD · inmate handbook, March 2023 · DSD · public contacts

Prepare treatment, supervision and practical support

Ask the person to kite Programs/case management before an expected release; families can contact DSDPrograms@denvergov.org. DSD describes help connecting jail programming, community substance-use/mental-health care, sober housing and a release plan. Ask for concrete appointments, addresses, required documents and transport, especially for an evening/weekend release.

The family guide says people released to the community receive a 30-day prescription for psychiatric medication. A prescription is not necessarily medication in hand: ask which pharmacy can fill it, coverage/cost, supply before the appointment and how MAT treatment will continue. Health Services can provide its Community Transition Program form. DSD also describes release harm-reduction bags with 2 naloxone administrations and 5 fentanyl test strips; ask staff what is available and for instructions.

Second Chance Center in the City, 1391 Delaware St., Denver, CO 80204, 303-537-5838, info@scccolorado.org, publishes hours Monday–Thursday 8:30 am–4:30 pm and Saturday 8:30 am–12:30 pm, closed Friday/Sunday. It offers reentry case management, employment, behavioral-health and housing-related support. Call to confirm intake and eligibility; this is not a guaranteed bed or an overnight release lounge.

Read all release conditions with counsel. If pretrial supervision, sobriety testing, electronic monitoring or probation is ordered, the person must follow the specific reporting instructions. Use Denver Pretrial Services for the appropriate supervision contact; County Court probation reception is 720-913-8300. Do not assume a family’s phone call substitutes for the person’s required report.

Sources: DSD · current family and friends guide · DSD · inmate handbook, March 2023 · Second Chance Center · current contacts · Second Chance Center · services · Denver · Pretrial Services · Denver County Court · current contacts

Back to guide contents ↑
PART 06

Travel and nearby help

Public parking, current transit changes and practical contacts.

Addresses, public parking and the last approach

Choose the correct public destination
DestinationArrival plan
DDC / Van Cise-Simonet490 W. Colfax Ave., Denver, CO 80204. Use the confirmed public lobby for social video, bond or approved property pickup; Lindsey-Flanigan Courthouse at 520 W. Colfax is a different building. Allow walking and security time before the 15-minute visit check-in.
DDC public parking optionJustice Center Garage: operator lists entrance at 1363 Delaware St., Denver, CO 80204; the property is also described as 490 W. 14th Ave. Operator 303-640-1096. Published open 24/7, but overnight parking is prohibited; posted height limit 6 ft 8 in. Pay/check the current rate and return limit before leaving the car. Juror discounts are not a jail-visitor entitlement.
COJL / Smith Road10500 E. Smith Rd., Denver, CO 80239. Follow the jail’s confirmed public-visit entrance; neighboring state correctional facilities have different gates. Ask 720-913-3642 for visitor-lot entry, accessible spaces, drop-off point and the route to the lobby before travel. The reviewed public instructions do not verify a parking fee, exact lot entrance or continuous accessible pedestrian approach.

Bring ID and confirmation, carry only approved items and settle storage of phones, bags and infant supplies beforehand. Do not assume a nearby hotel/restaurant lot permits jail parking, that a garage being open allows an overnight stay, or that a map pin is the public entrance. For a wheelchair, mobility device or other access need, ask about the actual gate-to-lobby route, security procedure and any escort before the appointment.

Sources: DSD · current visiting instructions · DSD · public contacts · Garage operator · Justice Center Garage

RTD routes and the September 2026 changes

RTD changed service on September 27, 2026. Plan the trip for the actual appointment date in RTD Next Ride, including the return after visiting. Some timetable files retrieved during this review still end September 26; their old departures are not reproduced here.

Transit planning by jail
JailOperator route / transferFinal approach and limit
DDCRTD Route 16, West Colfax Avenue, is the corridor route to check for 490 W. Colfax. Ask the planner for the current closest public stop and accessible crossing.A stop along Colfax still requires walking to the DDC public lobby and security. Do not use old instructions promising the D Line: RTD says it is not operating and is to be permanently discontinued after downtown reconstruction.
COJLRTD Route 37, Smith Road Industrial, has published service via Central Park Station and the Smith–Havana timepoint. Central Park Station, 8200 Smith Rd., connects the A Line with Route 37.Ask RTD specifically for Smith Rd/Havana St and the jail public entrance. Route 37’s retrieved timetable is weekday service, and the new change notice describes weekday timing changes. Confirm the current Friday return and a separate Saturday/Sunday plan; do not assume the jail’s weekend visits imply weekend bus service.

COJL’s final walk is in the Smith Road industrial area; a rail station or bus timepoint is not a verified gate-to-lobby accessible route. Do not cut through state-prison gates or industrial driveways. If the planner leaves an unsuitable walk, arrange an accessible ride to the confirmed public drop-off. The new RTD change notice also reroutes the 15/15L and changes East Colfax boarding, so old directions across downtown may fail.

Call 303-299-6000 for current stops, transfers and last return: Monday–Friday 6 am–8 pm, Saturday 9 am–6 pm, closed Sunday; Spanish option 2, other languages option 8, TTY 711. Eligible Access-a-Ride travelers use 303-292-6560 for reservations/cancellations; eligibility inquiries are 303-299-2960. A jail visit does not itself establish paratransit eligibility.

Sources: RTD · trip planner and alerts · RTD · Route 16 · RTD · Route 37 · RTD · Central Park Station · RTD · September 27, 2026 service changes · RTD · rider and accessibility contacts

Food and lodging contacts for each part of Denver

Nearby-area options to contact directly
Area / optionAddress and phonePlanning detail
Downtown food · Sam’s No. 31500 Curtis St., Denver, CO 80202; 303-534-1927Published downtown hours vary: Monday/Tuesday close at 2 pm; other days have later service. Confirm before an evening visit.
Downtown lodging · Hyatt Place Denver/Downtown440 14th St., Denver, CO 80202; 303-893-2900Ask about total room cost, parking, accessible room features and cancellation if the jail changes the appointment.
Smith Road/Peoria-area food · Denny’s12090 E. 40th Ave., Denver, CO 80239; 303-373-0840Confirm current dining hours and the trip from the jail; it is not inside the jail campus.
Northeast Denver lodging · Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denver East-Peoria Street12140 E. 45th Ave., Denver, CO 80239; 303-371-9498The operator publishes minimum check-in age 21, check-in 3 pm and checkout 11 am. Confirm transport to Smith Road, accessible needs and cancellation terms.

These are independently operated contacts, not DSD services or guaranteed availability. Do not book a nonrefundable stay before the visit is confirmed. Ask the property whether it permits any early arrival, luggage storage or parking during a jail trip; none is assumed. Choose the downtown or northeast destination to match the confirmed jail.

Sources: Sam’s No. 3 · locations · Hyatt Place · downtown hotel information · Denny’s · East 40th Avenue location · IHG · Denver East-Peoria Street

Back to guide contents ↑
Original directory record & nearby facilities Open preserved information

This section preserves the earlier Jail411 directory information, including historical figures and contacts. Use the dated, sourced family guide above for the instructions covered there. Other local facilities have their own rules.

Facility record / Colorado

Van Cise-Simonet Detention Center is a county or city jail in Denver, Denver County, Colorado. It is one of 5 correctional facilities in Denver County.

Jail411 does not hold custody records. A listing here does not mean anyone is held at this address. Confirm the person’s location with the responsible agency before you travel, send money, or pay for a service.

Where this record came from. The contact, status and security fields, with capacity and population, come from the HIFLD and Federal Bureau of Prisons directory release refreshed February 2026. They describe the record, not today’s population. Check the facility’s current official website.

Contact this facility

Address
490 W Colfax Avenue
Denver, CO 80204
Open in maps

Facility details

TypeCounty or city jail
Security levelMinimum
Directory statusOpen

Listed as open in the February 2026 directory release.

Finding someone held here

Use the county system for a recent arrest. A state corrections search covers people in state custody. It generally will not list someone booked into a county jail this week. Bookings, bail, release, and visiting are all handled by Denver County Sheriff’s Office.

Official site for this facility →
Call this facility directly: (720) 337-0400

Before you travel, pay, or mail anything

Get two things first: which facility the person is actually in, and their booking or ID number. Almost nothing works without them. Then check this facility’s current instructions — rules and service providers change.

Other facilities in Denver County

FacilityCityTypeSecurity
Denver County Jail Denver County or city jail Maximum
Denver Reception And Diagnostic Center Denver State prison Maximum
Denver Womens Correctional Facility Denver State prison Maximum
Gilliam Youth Services Center Denver Juvenile facility Juvenile

Clear information.
Clear boundaries.

Jail411 is an independent information resource for families and friends. We are not a government agency, jail operator, law firm or live custody-records service.

Can Jail411 tell me if someone is in custody right now?

No. Jail411 does not hold live custody records. Use the official locator for the county, state, federal or ICE system that has the person; start here if you do not know which.

Does posting bond mean the person comes home?

Not always. A probation or parole hold, another county's warrant or an immigration detainer can keep someone in custody after bond is posted. Ask the jail what holds are on the booking before you pay.

What should I confirm before visiting?

The person's current facility, the visiting schedule, approval requirements, accepted identification and arrival instructions. Check the facility page and its official sources before you travel.

What if I find something that needs correcting?

Send us the page and the detail that needs attention. Include the official source when you have one. Do not send private booking documents or other sensitive personal information.

YOUR FAMILY REFERENCE

Plan the next step.

Practical guides for calls, visits, mail, money and release.

Open family guides
Jail411 source information preserved on 2026-09-25.Official sources appear alongside the relevant information.